F T I
EN / FR

Media

BIG WHITE, BRITISH COLUMBIA TO HOST THE FULL FIELD OF OLYMPIC SNOWBOARD ATHLETES AT THE FIRST SBX WORLD CUP IN CANADA SINCE 2013


BIG WHITE SKI RESORT, BRITISH COLUMBIA play host to all FIS SBX National Snowboard Teams at the Inaugural Barrels & Berms FIS SBX World Cup at Big White Ski Resort, from January 20 to 27, 2020. This is the ONLY opportunity for the entire Canadian National team and Next Generation Team to compete at the top International level at home in 2020. Big White Ski Resort will be hosting all of the World’s top Olympic athletes including multiple World Champions and Olympic Medalists from around the Globe.

Both the Individual SBX and the Teams SBX events World Cup Titles will be contested, with the Team Event being a new Olympic discipline that will debut in 2022. 

 

What is Snowboardcross?

Competition formats:

Snowboardcross, an Olympic discipline event, features four riders racing simultaneously down a technically demanding course. Participants navigate around rollers, jumps, banked turns and tabletops at speeds in excess of 70km/h in a single-elimination format where the fastest two riders to cross the finish line in each heat, then advance to the next round until the final heat determines the winner. It is the easiest spectator snowboard discipline to follow and can be very exciting to watch due to the unpredictable nature of heat racing with multiple competitors together on course. 

 

Mixed team Snowboardcross

The team snowboard cross event made its World Cup debut back in the 2012/13 competition season at select stops on the SBX tour, and quickly established itself as a legitimate and legitimately thrilling variation on the already hugely popular snowboard cross event. 

As with standard four-aside snowboard cross events, the team competition works in a knockout bracket format, with four teams racing head-to-head in heats and the top two teams from each heat making their way forward towards the eventual big final.

Unlike a standard snowboard cross event, the team event functions as a two-competitor-per-team relay, with the second member of the team released from the start gate as soon as the first member of their team has crossed the finish line. The first team to have both competitors across the finish line in the big final is, of course, the winner.
 


When/Where:

January 20 - 27 Big White, British Columbia 
 


WHO TO WATCH

2018 PYEONGCHANG OLYMPIC MEDALISTS 

Men’s Gold: Pierre Vaultier (France), Silver: Jarryd Hughes (Australia), Bronze: Regino Hernandez (Spain), 

Women’s Gold: Michela Moioli (Italy), Silver: Julia Pereira De Sousa Mabileau (France)Bronze: Eva Samkova (Czech Republic). 


CANADIAN OLYMPIANS including Big White local TESS  CRITCHLOW, MERYETA O’DINE  ZOE BERGERMANN, ELIOT GRONDIN, CARLE BRENNEMAN, KEVIN HILL and CHRIS ROBANSKE (not competing due to injury but will be onsite) 

CANADA’S FUTURE OLYMPIANS from the Next Gen Team including HAILI MOYER, AUDREY MCMANIMAN, EVAN BICHON, LIAM MOFFATT

 

Athlete Profiles: 

https://www.barrelsandberms.ca/en/riders/

 
 

HOW TO WATCH

Canadian Audiences:

You can watch in Canada on CBC streaming, live or on their show, The Road to The Olympic Games on Saturday. The Teams event will also be shown live on CBC. 

You can access the full CBC Snowboarding schedule here https://cbc.calreplyapp.com/snowboard

 

International Livestream (non-Canadian Audiences):

ALL World Cup events will be live streamed on the FIS Snowboard YouTube channels. (not in Canada)

 

Official Canada Snowboard Social Channels

▪ Facebook - facebook.com/canadasnowboard

▪ Instagram - instagram.com/canadasnowboardteam/

▪ Twitter - twitter.com/CanadaSnowboard

▪ YouTube - youtube.com/user/CanadaSnowboardVideo

 

Social Media Sharing

Official hashtags of the event are:

#barrelsandberms

#bigwhite

#fissnowboard

#canadasnowboard 

#mazdacanada 

#BCsnowboard

 

Canada Snowboard Social Media partner information below:

Big White Ski Resort is our hosting partner, Mazda Canada official automotive partner and Li Ning is our official outerwear partner. Native shoes are our official footwear, Okanagan Springs is the official beer partner, TELUS is our telecom partner, Sunbelt rentals official power supplier, Prinoth Bison X help build the course and Clif Bar keep us energized.  A huge thanks goes out to our funding partners the Government of Canada and the Government of British Columbia as they are how we make the event a reality. 

 

A special thanks to the Indigenous peoples of Westbank First Nation

We acknowledge that this event is taking place on the traditional and unseeded territory of the Syilx (Okanagan) peoples. We are thankful to share in the special spirit of this place, rich in the energy of Mother Earth, our ancestors and the love of all Creation. We recognize, honour and respect the land in which we work, live and play.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuRjeRXAWbo

 

Image access for media and personal use:

Canada Snowboard Media Page contains all relevant media information.  www.barrelsandberms.ca

Downloadable, Rights Cleared Images from the event can be accessed either through the Gallery embedded in the www.barrelsandberms.ca website or directly from the Canada Snowboard Flickr account. https://www.flickr.com/photos/canadasnowboard/

 

FIS image library:

Throughout the 2019/20 FIS Snowboard season we will continue to share rights-free photos from each event on our SmugMug page - https://fis.smugmug.com/FISSnowboard/World-Cup/2019/Snowboard-cross. Here you can also find archived photo galleries from previous seasons, and all photos are free for editorial usage with credit to the photographer (if listed) and FIS Snowboard (or @fissnowboard on social media). 

 

Youtube: 

Women’s and men’s top-3 podium runs as well as winner’s interviews will also be available shortly after each competition on our YouTube page, HERE - https://www.youtube.com/user/fissnowboardchannel/playlists. We happily encourage you to link, share and/or embed these videos through your channels throughout the season. 

 

Venue Channels and Key Athletes 

We (FIS) follow all of our venue social media channels and share, retweet and regram from them whenever possible as we work to create buzz around our events and build towards the season's marquee competitions. If you would like to see what various organisers are doing ahead of and during a FIS Snowboard Cross event, here are complete lists of 2019/20 FIS Snowboard Cross World Cup organizers and their respective social media. 

As well, to help you follow and share/retweet/regram athlete posts, we have compiled profiles of some the most prominent men and women of the Snowboard World Cup tour. If you are interested in more athletes (e.g. from your country) please contact us and we should be able to point you in the right direction. 

 

Live-scoring and Statistics 

The live-scoring service for the 2019/2020 FIS Snowboard Cross World Cup tour will be available https://www.fis-ski.com/DB/snowboard/live.html or through the FISApp for IOS and Android smartphones. 

Furthermore, the FIS website offers an extensive STATISTIC section based on athletes’ and nations’ past results, providing interesting insights from World Cup, World Championships and Winter Olympic Games results. For your convenience we’ve chosen a handful of key tables, below. 

KEY STATS: 

▪  2018/2019 World Cup calendar and results

▪  2018/2019 FIS Snowboard Cross World Cup ranking - WOMEN & MEN & NATION

▪  All top 3 World Championships results – WOMEN & MEN

▪  All top 3 Olympic Winter Games results - WOMEN & MEN

▪  Most World Cup victories - WOMEN & MEN

▪  All-time nations podium rankings - ALL

 

The 2019/20 FIS Snowboard World Cup season will be the 23rd for the FIS Snowboard Cross World Cup, dating all the way back to the 1996/97 season. With 148 World Cup competitions, 12 world championships, and four Olympic appearances already in the books ahead of this season, the FIS Snowboard Cross World Cup has long been entrenched as one of the most exciting and viewer- friendly competitions in any FIS discipline. 

The 2019/20 season kicked-off of the World Cup tour taking place in Montafon (AUT) on Dec 11-13, then headed to Cervinia (ITA) from Dec 20-21, followed by the Barrels and Berms race in Big White (CAN) on January 24-26, then it returns to Europe, where the races will be held in Feldberg (GER) from Jan 31-Feb 02, go to Sierra Nevada (ESP) on March 6-7, and finishing in Veysonnaz (SUI) from March 13-15 (Full calendar HERE). 

 

EVENT IMAGES FOR DOWNLOADING AND SHARING.

Direct access at https://www.flickr.com/photos/canadasnowboard/collections/72157712799959496/

Training Day Bib Assignments (Jan. 23, 2020): MEN | WOMEN

Qualifications Bib Assignments (Jan. 24, 2020): MEN | WOMEN

Course Testing Day - Jan. 22, 2020

 
Training Day - Jan. 23, 2020

 
Qualifications - Jan. 24, 2020

 
Finals - Individual Events - Jan. 25, 2020

 
Finals - Team Event - Jan. 26, 2020

Thank you to our partners

Partner

MazdaOkanagan SpringTelusNative ShoesLiNingSunbelt RentalsClif BarPrinothPellar Estates

Funding Partners

Gov of CanadaGov of BC

Sanctioning Partners

Canada SnowboardBC SnowboardBig WhiteFIS

F T I
EN / FR

MÉDIAS

BIG WHITE EN COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE ACCUEILLERA UN TABLEAU REMPLI D’ATHLÈTES OLYMPIQUES DE SNOWBOARD À LA PREMIÈRE COUPE DU MONDE DE SBX AU CANADA DEPUIS 2013

LA STATION DE SKI BIG WHITE EN COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE accueille toutes les Équipes Nationales de snowboard SBX lors de la Coupe du Monde inaugurale FIS SBX Barrels & Berms à la station de ski Big White, du 20 au 27 janvier 2020. C'est la SEULE opportunité pour toute l'Équipe Nationale Canadienne et l'Équipe Next Gen de compétitionner au plus haut niveau international à domicile en 2020. La station de ski Big White accueillera les meilleurs athlètes Olympiques du monde, y compris plusieurs Champions du Monde et Médaillés Olympiques de partout à travers la planète.

Les titres de Coupe du monde des épreuves SBX individuelles et par équipes seront contestés, l'épreuve par équipes étant une nouvelle discipline olympique qui fera ses débuts en 2022.

 

Qu'est-ce que le Snowboardcross ?

Les formats de compétition :

Le Snowboardcross, une discipline olympique, met en scène quatre riders qui descendent simultanément sur un parcours techniquement exigeant. Les participants s’élancent sur des rouleaux, des sauts, des virages relevés et des « tabletops » à des vitesses supérieures à 70 km/h dans un format à élimination où les deux planchistes qui franchissent la ligne d'arrivée en premier passent à la manche suivante jusqu'à ce que la dernière manche détermine le gagnant. C'est la discipline de snowboard la plus facile à suivre pour les spectateurs et elle peut être très excitante à regarder en raison de la nature imprévisible des courses à quatre avec plusieurs compétiteurs ensemble sur le parcours.

 

Épreuve de Snowboardcross par équipe mixte

L'épreuve de Snowboardcross par équipe a fait ses débuts en Coupe du monde dès la saison de compétition 2012/13 lors de certaines étapes du circuit de SBX et s'est rapidement imposée comme une variation légitime et palpitante de l'épreuve de Snowboardcross individuelle déjà très populaire.

Comme pour les épreuves de snowboard cross standard à quatre riders, la compétition par équipe se déroule selon un format à élimination directe, avec quatre équipes qui s'affrontent lors des manches et les deux équipes les plus rapides de chaque manche qui se dirigent vers la grande finale.

Contrairement à une épreuve de snowboard cross standard, l'épreuve par équipe fonctionne comme un relais à deux compétiteurs par équipe, le deuxième membre de l'équipe étant libéré de la grille de départ dès que le premier membre de son équipe a franchi la ligne d'arrivée. La première équipe dont les deux compétiteurs franchissent la ligne d'arrivée dans la grande finale est, bien entendu, la gagnante.

 

Quand/où :

20 - 27 janvier Big White, Colombie-Britannique

 

QUI SURVEILLER

2018 MÉDAILLÉS OLYMPIQUES DE PYEONGCHANG

 Chez les Hommes Or: Pierre Vaultier (France), Argent : Jarryd Hughes (Australie), Bronze : Regino Hernandez (Espagne),

 Chez les Femmes Or : Michela Moioli (Italie), Argent : Julia Pereira De Sousa Mabileau (France)Bronze : Eva Samkova (République Tchèque).

 

OLYMPIENS CANADIENS, dont l’athlète locale de Big White TESS CRITCHLOW, MERYETA O'DINE, ZOE BERGERMANN, ELIOT GRONDIN, CARLE BRENNEMAN, KEVIN HILL et CHRIS ROBANSKE (ne participe pas à la compétition en raison d'une blessure, mais sera sur place)

LES FUTURS OLYMPIENS DU CANADA de l'équipe Next Gen comprenant HAILI MOYER, AUDREY MCMANIMAN, EVAN BICHON, LIAM MOFFATT​

 

Profils d'athlètes :

https://www.barrelsandberms.ca/fr/riders/

 

COMMENT REGARDER

Auditoires canadiens :

Vous pouvez regarder au Canada sur les ondes de la CBC, en direct ou dans leur émission The Road to The Olympic Games, le samedi. L'épreuve par équipe mixte sera également diffusée en direct sur CBC.

Vous pouvez accéder à l'horaire complet de CBC Snowboarding ici https://cbc.calreplyapp.com/snowboard

 

Diffusion Internationale en Direct (auditoires non canadiens) :

TOUS les événements de la Coupe du monde seront diffusés en direct sur les chaînes de Snowboard YouTube de la FIS. (Pas au Canada)

 

Chaînes sociales officielles de Canada Snowboard

▪ Facebook - facebook.com/canadasnowboard

Instagram - instagram.com/canadasnowboardteam/

Twitter - twitter.com/CanadaSnowboard

YouTube - youtube.com/user/CanadaSnowboardVideo

 

Partage des médias sociaux

Les hashtags officiels de l'événement sont :

#barrelsandberms

#bigwhite

#fissnowboard

#canadasnowboard

#mazdacanada

#BCsnowboard

 

Voici les renseignements sur les partenaires des médias sociaux de Canada Snowboard :

Big White Ski Resort est notre partenaire hôte, Mazda Canada est le partenaire automobile officiel et Li Ning est notre partenaire officiel pour les vêtements d'extérieur. Native shoes sont nos chaussures officielles, Okanagan Springs est le partenaire officiel de la bière, TELUS est notre partenaire de télécommunications, Sunbelt rentals est le fournisseur d'énergie officiel, Prinoth Bison X aide à construire le parcours et Clif Bar nous garde énergisés.  Un grand merci à nos partenaires financiers, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, car c'est grâce à eux que cet événement est une réalité.

 

Nous remercions tout particulièrement les peuples autochtones de la Première Nation de Westbank

Nous reconnaissons que cet événement se déroule sur le territoire traditionnel et non cédé des peuples Syilx (Okanagan). Nous sommes reconnaissants de partager l'esprit spécial de cet endroit, riche de l'énergie de la planète Terre, de nos ancêtres et de l'amour pour la Création. Nous reconnaissons, honorons et respectons la terre dans laquelle nous travaillons, vivons et jouons.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuRjeRXAWbo

 

Accès aux images pour les médias et l'usage personnel :

La page des médias de Canada Snowboard contient tous les renseignements pertinents pour les médias. www.barrelsandberms.ca

Les images téléchargeables et libres de droits de l'événement sont accessibles soit par la galerie intégrée au site Web www.barrelsandberms.ca ou directement à partir du compte Flickr de Canada Snowboard. https://www.flickr.com/photos/canadasnowboard/

 

Bibliothèque d'images FIS :

Tout au long de la saison de snowboard FIS 2019/20, nous continuerons à partager des photos libres de droits de chaque événement sur notre page SmugMug - https://fis.smugmug.com/FISSnowboard/World-Cup/2019/Snowboard-cross. Vous pouvez également y trouver des galeries de photos archivées des saisons précédentes, et toutes les photos sont gratuites pour un usage éditorial avec crédit au photographe (si listé) et à FIS Snowboard (ou @fissnowboard sur les médias sociaux).

 

Youtube :

Les podiums du top 3 féminin et masculin ainsi que les interviews des vainqueurs seront également disponibles peu après chaque compétition sur notre page YouTube, ICI - https://www.youtube.com/user/fissnowboardchannel/playlists. Nous sommes heureux de vous encourager à lier, partager et/ou intégrer ces vidéos sur vos réseaux tout au long de la saison.

 

Sites, Réseaux Sociaux et Athlètes en vue

Nous suivons tous les médias sociaux et partageons, retweetons et regrammons à partir de ceux-ci lorsque c'est possible, alors que nous travaillons à créer un buzz autour de nos événements et à nous orienter vers les compétitions de marque de la saison. Si vous souhaitez voir ce que font les divers organisateurs avant et pendant un événement de Snowboardcross de la FIS, voici la liste complète des organisateurs de la Coupe du monde de Snowboardcross de la FIS 2019/20 et de leurs médias sociaux respectifs.

De plus, pour vous aider à suivre et à partager/retweeter/regrammer les postes d'athlètes, nous avons compilé les profils de certains des hommes et des femmes les plus en vue du circuit de la Coupe du monde de snowboard. Si vous êtes intéressé par d'autres athlètes (par exemple de votre pays), veuillez nous contacter et nous devrions être en mesure de vous orienter dans la bonne direction.

 

Résultats en direct et statistiques

Le service de pointage en direct pour le circuit de la Coupe du Monde de Snowboardcross de la FIS 2019/2020 sera disponible sur https://www.fis-ski.com/DB/snowboard/live.html ou par le biais de l’App FIS pour IOS et les smartphones Android.

De plus, le site Web de la FIS offre une vaste section de STATISTIQUE basée sur les résultats passés des athlètes et des nations, offrant des aperçus intéressants des résultats de la Coupe du monde, des Championnats du monde et des Jeux olympiques d'hiver. Pour vous faciliter la tâche, nous avons choisi une poignée de tableaux clés, ci-dessous.

STATISTIQUES CLÉS :

Calendrier et résultats de la Coupe du monde 2018/2019

▪ Classement de la Coupe du monde de snowboard cross FIS 2018/2019 - FEMMES & HOMMES & NATION

▪ Tous les résultats des TOP 3 Championnats du Monde - FEMMES & HOMMES

▪ Tous les résultats des TOP 3 Jeux Olympiques d'hiver - FEMMES & HOMMES

▪ Le plus grand nombre de victoires en Coupe du monde - FEMMES & HOMMES

▪ Classement du podium des Nations de tous les temps - TOUS

 

La saison 2019/20 de la Coupe du Monde de snowboard FIS sera la 23e de la Coupe du Monde de Snowboardcross FIS, qui remonte à la saison 1996/97. Avec 148 compétitions de la Coupe du monde, 12 Championnats du Monde et quatre apparitions aux Jeux Olympiques déjà dans les livres avant cette saison, la Coupe du monde de Snowboardcross de la FIS est depuis longtemps reconnue comme l'une des compétitions les plus excitantes et les plus conviviales pour les spectateurs dans toutes les disciplines de la FIS.

La saison 2019/20 a débuté par l’épreuve de la Coupe du monde qui a eu lieu à Montafon (AUT) du 11 au 13 décembre, puis s'est dirigée vers Cervinia (ITA) du 20 au 21 décembre, suivie de la course des Barrels and Berms à Big White (CAN) du 24 au 26 janvier, puis elle retournera en Europe, où les courses se dérouleront à Feldberg (GER) du 31 janvier au 02 février, à Sierra Nevada (ESP) les 6 et 7 mars et finiront à Veysonnaz (SUI) du 13 au 15 mars (calendrier complet ICI).

 

IMAGES D'ÉVÈNEMENT : 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/canadasnowboard/collections/72157712799959496/

Training Day Bib Assignments (Jan. 23, 2020): MEN | WOMEN

Qualifications Bib Assignments (Jan. 24, 2020): MEN | WOMEN

Course Testing Day - 22 jan. 2020

 
Training Day - 23 jan. 2020

 
Qualifications - 24 jan. 2020

 
Finals - Individual Events - 25 jan. 2020

 
Finals - Team Event - 26 jan. 2020

Merci à nos partenaires

Partenaire

MazdaOkanagan SpringTelusNative ShoesLiNingSunbelt RentalsClif BarPrinothPellar Estates

Partenaires financiers

Gov of CanadaGov of BC

Canada SnowboardBC SnowboardBig WhiteFIS